Toll in Bengal panchayat poll violence rises to 20

Narendra Modi and Mamata Banerjee

West Bengal Panchayat Election Result 2018 Live Updates: Will Trinamool Congress sweep polls? Counting today

- 10: 56 am: Trinamool Congress is leading in 30 seats of Chinsurah-Mogra panchayat samity, BJP is now in the 3 position with 14 seats.

Sporadic incidents of violence over the election results were reported from certain districts, including Nadia where a group of miscreants allegedly stole the ballot boxes.

The state ruling party also came out victorious in at least 160 out of 6,125 Panchayat Samiti seats and were leading in another 173 constituencies, the latest poll result data released by the State Election Commission (SEC) said.

Kolkata: Counting of votes for the Panchayat Election in West Bengal has started in North Bengal's Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, North Dinajpur, South Dinajpur, Jalpaiguri and Malda.

The ruling Trinamool Congress looked set for a resounding win bulldozing all political rivals in rural West Bengal on Thursday in the vote count for the three-tier state Panchayat election, with the BJP emerging a distant second in nearly all the districts.

Whereas in Gram Panchayats (GPs), TMC got good competition from the BJP. "Tribal people of the state have voted against the atrocities of the Trinamool Congress", said Basu. Independent candidates made big gains by winning 1,614 GP seats and leading in another 33. However, BJP, which has been registering electoral growth in the state over the past two years, emerged as the major opposition by coming runners up in the elections. The Congress won 315 gram panchayat seats and is leading in 61 seats.

TMC leading in 204 out of 825 Zilla Parishads; Left Front and BJP yet to open accounts.

In East Midnapore, the TMC won 1,969 gram panchayat seats, the BJP 177, the CPI (M) 134 and the Congress 15 seats. Half a dozen of supporters of the CPI (M) and a couple of BJP supporters had also been killed in the violence. According to State Election Commisison till 7.30 pm, out of total 48,660 seat, 31,802 gram anchayat seats were contested. We have already won several panchayats. "Had the elections been free and fair, we would have won 50 per cent seats at all the three levels of the panchayat", state BJP general secretary Sayantan Basu said.

In the panchayat samitis, as well, the TMC has taken a lead in about 86 per cent of total seats with BJP in the second position with 11 per cent seats.

The TMC, on the other hand, said the people of Bengal had voted in favour of development ushered in by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

The Panchayat Samiti was, however, won by ruling party strongman Arabul Islam who was arrested a day before the election for his alleged involvement in the murder of a local youth.

The Panchayat polls in the state of West Bengal was hit by massive violence on May 14 in which 18 people were killed and 43 injured.

Latest News