All six Maharashtra RS candidates to be elected unopposed

In the past the BJP had mostly opted for non Yadav OBCs and non Jatav Dalits

In the past the BJP had mostly opted for non Yadav OBCs and non Jatav Dalits

Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala responded to BJP's allegations while addressing reporters.

Parshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya of the BJP and, Naran Rathwa and Amee Yagnik of the Congress were declared elected.

A total of four seats were up for grabs from the state.

"In Rajya Sabha, we will definitely raise our voice for the larger interest of Odisha", said Nanda after getting elected unopposed.

National President and former PM, Mr H.D. Deve Gowda had already giving indications of moving the high court if Speaker, Mr K.B. Koliwad fails to dispose of the petition before the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls as the seven votes of the rebel legislators will be vital for the Congresss to ensure the victory of its third candidate.

The prospect of a contest came up when Valera, a Congress general secretary, and Rana filed their forms.

The BJP had created suspense on Monday by fielding Rahatkar as the opposition Congress-Nationalist Congress Party are both running short of votes to get their candidates elected.

The BJP then approached the Election Commission demanding that Rathwa' nomination be disqualified due to irregularities in his form. However, the poll panel ruled out any immediate intervention.

With the bitter experience of the nail-biting contest for the three Rajya Sabha seats in August past year, both the BJP and Congress might have avoided the risk of cross-voting by keeping the extra candidates in the fray.

For a candidate to win, 37 first preferential votes are required.

"Maharashtra State Commission for Women chairperson Vijaya Rahatkar has withdrawn from the fray", the state's Parliamentary Affairs Minister Girish Bapat said here today.

Notably, Thursday was the last day for withdrawing nominations.

Elections to four Rajya Sabha are scheduled on March 23. Anil Desai of Shiv Sena, NCP's Vandana Chavan and Congress's Kumar Ketkar also went through to the upper house. "With Patangrao Kadam's recent demise, Congress's strength has been reduced from 42 to 41and its two MLAs Nitesh Rane and Kalidas Kolmbkar are considered to be Rane loyalists so it is likely they might not vote in favour of the Congress".

Latest News