Both CPI-M, BJP confident of forming government in Tripura

Meghalaya Nagaland elections

Nagaland and Meghalaya go to polls tomorrow

The ruling Meghalaya United Alliance was formed by the Congress after the 2013 elections with the support of some smaller parties and Independents.

They predicted a victory for the Left parties in four to seven ST reserved seats while the BJP alliance was said to have victory possibilities in 13 to 16 seats. The BJP is contesting the polls in alliance with the newly-floated Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the two are contesting 20 and 40 seats respectively. The Congress is predicted to win 13-17 seats with a voteshare of 21 per cent and others are likely to get 2 to 6 seats. While elections were postponed in Meghalay's Williamnagar following the death of an NCP candidate, in Nagaland, Nephiu Rio of NDPP was declared victor from Northern Angami-II Assembly seat in Kohima after his rival withdrew from the race.

What was the voter-turnout in Tripura election 2018?

The election process in Nagaland had started on a hard note. "The final vote tally is around 90 per cent (89.8) but taking into account the postal ballots, the total percentage is a little over 92 per cent", an Election Department official had said on February 19. The election results will be declared on the Election Commission of India's website.

The C-Voter exit poll, on the other hand, believes that it will be a close fight between the left and the BJP, where the former is excepted to win 26-34, while the latter and it's allies are excepted to rake up 24-32. "Our party will get around 33 seats in Meghalaya", he said confidently.

Add that to the vote and seat share projections for the BJP - 16.6 per cent, and 4-8 seats, respectively and the Meghalaya Congress has good reason to be anxious. If the exit polls are right, and two of them gave the State to the BJP while one had the BJP and CPI-M in a dead heat, the saffron party has pulled off in three years of sustained organisation-building and agitprop what the Congress had been unable and/or unwilling to do in 25.

Tripura became a full-fledged state in January 1972 along with Meghalaya and Manipur. Tripura went to polls on the 18th of last month, while voting in Meghalaya and Nagaland was held on Tuesday.

In picture: Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang (right) with Prime Minister Narendra Modi. For the first time, Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma is contesting from two seats.

How many nominations are filed for Nagaland polls?

A complex ethnic divide with a plethora of parties has led the state to deep uncertainties with regard to the electoral outcome in all the Assembly elections, including this one. Tripura went to the polls on February 18. In Nagaland, too, counting of votes for 59 seats will begin at 8am. "Our vote share may fall but we are confident of forming the government", party state secretary Bijan Dhar said.

Latest News