Yogi credits Modi for BJP's resounding performance in UP civic polls

UP Civic Poll Results Yogi passes litmus test as BJP sweeps mayoral race

UP Civic Poll Results: Yogi passes litmus test as BJP sweeps mayoral race

Amethi local body election result ensured the victory for BJP by defeating Congress. Yogi Adityanath has nearly passed his first biggest electoral test in Uttar Pradesh.

After 100 years, Lucknow will get its first woman mayor, as this time, the Lucknow mayoral seat has been reserved for women.

In Allahabad Muncipal Corporation, BJP's Abhilasha Gupta was leading with a few hundred votes while in the state capital Lucknow, Sanyukta Bhatia of the BJP was leading over her nearest SP rival.

"Cycle" is the election symbol of the Samajwadi Party. Saharanpur witnessed a close fight where BJP's Sanjiv Walia defeated BSP's Fazlur Rehman by around 2,000 votes.

Out of 652 seats, the BJP had won 341 seats, beating rival parties by a distance. The Adityanath government, soon after assuming office, had constituted two municipal corporations: Ayodhya and Vrindavan-Mathura.

Of the 198 Nagar Palika Parishad chairman posts, the BJP won 47 seats.

In Firozabad, BJP candidate Nutan Rathore emerged victorious over Masroor Fatima of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) by a margin of 42,396 votes.

In Bareilly, Umesh Gautam of the BJP trounced Iqbal Singh Tomar of the SP by 12,784 votes. Sunita Verma and Mohammad Furkan won the mayoral election of Meerut and Aligarh respectively. Adityanath who undertook a whirl-wind tour of the state to ensure the victory of his party's candidates, described the outcome as a "historic win".

Independent candidate Nadira Khatoon won the civic polls from Gorakhpur's ward number 68. Congress won 7 nagar palika and 17 nagar panchayat chairperson seats. In Amethi and Musafirkhana, the party had not fielded candidates. In Jais, BJP candidate Mahesh Sonkar was leading.

Opposition SP, BSP and Congress campaigns were on comparatively low key.

"The SP, the BSP and the Congress contested the polls as each other's relatives".

Taking a dig at Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Adityanath said, "The results were an opener for those who were making tall claims regarding Gujarat but failed to win any seat in the UP civic election... aur Amethi me bhi unka bilkul safaya ho gaya (and in Amethi, they were wiped out)".

"There was no shortcoming in EVMs, but it's in their minds and party".

BJP chief Amit Shah said that it was clear that the people had embraced the economic reforms and rejected politics of caste, appeasement and dynasty. "Across Western UP, we found Muslims voted for SP", said a BJP MP.

Aligarh Nagar Nigam Election 2017 Result is Yet To Announce!

These elections are being viewed as a litmus test for the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Congress as well. Sources attributed the win to BSP supremo Mayawati, who put all her energy into reviving her party's depleting support base since she quit Rajya Sabha in July this year. The elections had been gone through an average turnout of, in the all three phases, of 52.5% of 3.32 crore voters.

Latest News