Congress is symbol of devastation, says Yogi Adityanath

Rahul Gandhi

Party in politics Ashok Gehlot Rahul Gandhi tango

"They (Congress) are not supporters of development, but of devastation". Adityanath also took a jibe at Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi saying "Samjho jahan Rahul Gandhi prachaar karne chale gaye, wahan Congress ki haar pakki (If Rahul Gandhi goes to campaign somewhere, Congress is sure to lose)", as per an Indian Express report.

Gandhi, who had just completed a three day tour of central Gujarat, was the target of the UP chief minister's ire for it's allegations against the ruling party, its president and the prime minister.

Agarwal said that the all the leaders claimed that with Sonia Gandhi finding it hard to contribute enough time to the organisation, it was the right time to elevate Rahul Gandhi to the top post of Congress. Rahul, who was also present at the event, refused to speak on the development. Former Union minister Sachin Pilot indicated recently that Mr Gandhi will take over the reins of the outfit after Diwali. "The Congress will come back in both the states", he said.

Sources in the Congress told this newspaper that the party is of the opinion that Mr Gandhi's campaign in Gujarat has boosted his image with his pointed attacks on Mr Modi.

Several Congress leaders have raised their voices from time to time for making Rahul the party president but they were silenced by their colleagues.

Yesterday, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand Congress Committees unanimously passed resolution to appoint Rahul Gandhi as AICC president.

He exhorted the people to make Gujarat "Congress mukt" (free from Congress). "I want to assure you that in the next Assembly elections, these seven Members of Legislative Assembly won't be able to retain their seats", asserted Yogi Adityanath.

He exhorted the people to give Congress a "memorable defeat" because Congress has always been insulting Gujarat's son of soil- Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. The 14th legislative assembly election in Gujarat is to be held by the end of 2017 as the term of 13th assembly ends on January 22, 2018.

Latest News