State Department warns USA citizens of travel to Mexico

US Warns Citizens About Traveling to Cancun

Why the US issued new travel warnings for Mexico

The warning said Americans have been victims of violent crimes, such as murder, kidnapping, carjacking and robbery in several Mexican states. The updated travel warning, which was released August 22, replaces an earlier travel warning issued December 8, 2016.

"Gun battles between rival criminal organizations or with Mexican authorities have taken place on streets and in public places during broad daylight", the State Department said in the warning. However, the advisory says there is no evidence those involved in the drug war are targeting American citizens based on their nationality. However, the Department of State said USA citizens have been murdered in carjackings and highway robberies, most frequently at night and on isolated roads.

A state-by-state assessment of security conditions throughout Mexico can be found online.

The advisory also added warnings for the states of Chiapas and Veracruz, bringing the total number of Mexican states covered under the advisory from the US government to 23 - or roughly three-fourths of the states in the entire country.

The U.S. Department of State on Tuesday warned U.S. citizens about the risk of traveling to certain parts of Mexico due to the activities of criminal organizations in those areas.

The department did not issue the "defer non-essential travel" warning to Baja California Sur or Quintana Roo, contrasting to other areas in Mexico that have received the warning. It also prohibits personal travel to all impacted areas by USA government personnel and their families. In Baja California Sur, which includes Los Cabos, the homicide rate has been on the rise since a year ago. Innocent bystanders have been injured or killed in shootings, the department says.

The state of Quintana Roo, where the resorts of Tulum and Cozumel are also located, gets 10 million tourists a year, a third of the national total.

No advisory is in effect for Campeche, Guanajuato (includes San Miguel de Allende and Leon), Hidalgo, Mexico City, Puebla, Queretaro, Tabasco (includes Villahermosa) Tlaxcala and Yucatan (includes Merida and Chichen Itza).

Latest News