BJP sweeps Mira-Bhayander municipal polls, continuing Maharashtra victory run

The election for the MBMC was held on Sunday and there were 509 candidates in the fray

The election for the MBMC was held on Sunday and there were 509 candidates in the fray

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday swept the Mira Road and Bhayander municipal elections which was held last week. A total of 509 candidates are contesting for the 94 seats. The Congress won 10 seats, nine less than what it had bagged in 2012, reported the Hindustan Times. BJP won 61 seats out of the 95 while former ally Shiv Sena managed to win 22 seats.

The residents of Mira-Bhayandar had yesterday dared heavy rains to come out and vote for 94 of 95 of seats of the civic body.

BJP, which had managed just 32 corporators in 2012 and had led the municipal corporation in alliance with Shiv Sena, nearly doubled its tally from 32 in 2012 in the current municipal polls while Shiv Sena made a gain of seven seats as compared to what it had won in 2012.

Surprisingly, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) did not win any seats where as two Independent Candidates won seats in the Mira Bhayander civic body.

2017 elections results will be announced by today evening.

BJP had fielded 90 candidates while its ally RPI (Athawale group) had put four candidates.

Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray campaigned heavily in the elections, virtually carrying on with the BJP-Sena acrimony seen in the Mumbai civic elections earlier this year. The Shiv Sena, which held 22 seats in the outgoing house and contested separately, was restricted to 15 seats, coming a distant second. Sena had secured only 9 seats while the grand old party until then did not figure in double digits and was floating at six seats.

BJP's Mumbai unit chief Ashish Shelar was more direct in his attack on the Shiv Sena, saying that poll after poll in the state are a demonstration of the BJP's rise and they showed the real power of "those who have illusions about their strength".

This is the third municipal election in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR) where BJP has received an absolute majority.

The term of the BJP-Shiv Sena rule municipal corporation ends on 27 August.

Latest News